Love Poems You Didn’t Write: Since Feeling is First

Over the past few days I have been posting a series of pieces headlined ‘Love poems you wish you had written’, from an idea originally mooted by David J Beauman, AKA The Dad Poet. When David saw that I was returning to the series, after a break of two years, he reciprocated, reblogging a couple of my selections (or rather the poems requested by my mates on social media). So today I return the compliment, because he has posted an intriguing poem by E E Cummings, and compares the ‘syntax of things’ to cooking a meal for the man he loves. Creating something delicious needs a basic technique, but a whole lot more magic to make it special…..

Thanks for all the inspiration David. Here’s to a poetic 2015 🙂

David J. Bauman

tumblr_mpsffcmQRE1styy8io1_500So I changed the title. Please feel free to submit a formal complaint to the management. You can consider this the fourth and final installment of the “Love Poems You Wish You Had Written” series for 2015. There is about a half hour left in the day of the man who died to marry people (or so the story of St. Valentine goes). My sweetheart is in a food coma on the couch and we haven’t even gotten to dessert yet. I guess I overdid it.

Having worked in the restaurant industry, at first by choice and then as a means of survival, the last place I wanted to be was out on the town tonight. So I cooked, oh boy did I cook. Brie with apricots, honey, pecans and golden raisins; Caesar salad with red onions and red romaine; and Brian’s favorite, chicken Parmesan with my own pasta sauce…

View original post 577 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Poems You Didn’t Write: Since Feeling is First

  1. Suzie, I have wanted more than once to write about my own bouts with depression. They come in cycles, and are sometimes accompanied by anxiety. Two of the natural drugs that help, if I can push myself through to keep at them long enough to become habitual, are exercise and writing. You inspired me this winter when you took up this topic again, and I apologize for just inviting myself along like that but it was really helpful for me this week. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

