‘Talking Books’…On trying to become Somerset’s answer to Mariella Frostrup

10radio…I wish!

But I do have my own book show on local radio -10Radio based at the heart of a Somerset community  – and the first programme  is looming large. I go on air at 11am tomorrow (Friday 29th March 2013) to start the series of fortnightly programmes which will offer book reviews, news and interviews with writers, poets, photographers – in fact anyone with a book out that I think will interest listeners on 105.3fm in Somerset or anywhere in the world online at www.10Radio.org. I will also be recording each show and putting links up on my blog so you can listen anytime anywhere. Aren’t you lucky?!!

I am nervous, but very excited. As a writer I am also a keen reader (and think you have to be) but I also love to talk about books and think about what they mean to me. I want to focus on a different genre each time and find an author willing to come on for a chat to talk about their work and their writing life. I also want to encourage a bit of audience interaction so would love to have requests for favourite poems – there is someone with a wonderful voice at the station who does readings and voice overs professionally so I am keen to take advantage of his skills.

The show came about purely by accident. I was being interviewed at 10Radio to plug the TAP conference and had talked about my book Dandelions and Bad Hair Days when I happened to ask whether they had a book programme in the schedule. ‘No! Do you want to do one?’ came the reply. I am in the mood for new challenges at the moment and after much discussion over a title for the show, ‘Talking Books’ was commissioned. On a voluntary basis of course. The station is held together by a committed band of Directors and a lot of willing volunteers but it is really well-respected and I am keen to ensure I don’t mess up.

Beth Webb

Beth Webb

The first show – as it is Easter hols – is on the children and young adults market. I am lucky enough to have Beth Webb as my first guest. She is a first rate storyteller and writer of books for children and teens, including the Star Dancer quartet (loved by teens and adults alike) and The Junkyard Dragon. I am hoping she will be kind – I suspect I will get so involved in our conversation I will be cut off unceremoniously at 11.30am as I overrun. Timing might be something I can only learn by experience.

So listen out for me. I would love to know what you think. Most of my readers here will have to listen online I suspect but feedback would be good (although not the kind you get from having the phone too near the radio of course…) and as each programme approaches I might be asking for your favourites in the ‘genre of the week’. So keep your fingers crossed for me. I would love a long career in radio and the chance to talk to you directly about the writing we all love.

Make a cup of tea and listen with a hob nob. Books and biscuits - what could be better?

This entry was posted in Author interviews, Book, Dandelions and Bad Hair Days, Family History, Poetry, Radio Show, Reading, Talking Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Talking Books’…On trying to become Somerset’s answer to Mariella Frostrup

  1. Angela Buckley says:

    That’s so exciting, Suzie and huge congrats on landing your own show! I hope it all goes really well and I can’t wait to listen in xx

  2. Jane Earthy says:

    Good luck for tomorrow Suzie! But not too many Hob Nobs!

  3. MarinaSofia says:

    Good luck, that sounds like such a wonderfully exciting new venture! I am sure you will be wonderful – after,all, you are passionate about your topic.

  4. Thanks for having me – I was very honoured to be your first guest. Such fun talking to with you about books – YUM!

  5. Emma Jolly says:

    Hi Suzie,
    Is there a link to listen to your show on catch-up?

Leave a Reply

