Why I love to look up sometimes…

This isn’t a long post, I am feeling a little devoid of inspiration. The gloom that comes over me on a Sunday as I prepare myself for another working week is all consuming. Luckily though, I took some photographs today on Dunster beach. I left the family to throw stones into the sea for our dog and pootled off to look at the sky. I often photograph skies, it is invariably more interesting than the land, the view of which remains disappointingly static as a rule. I like to see the clouds take on unexpected shapes and see the blues change and deepen with the position of the sun as I turn round 360 degrees. I love the way the sky and the sea become blurred at the horizon, and imagine how it must feel to travel further and further out to where the two must surely meet. And most of all I just want to look up and drink in the vastness of it all. To look down feels limiting, to look up makes me feel free. The most incresible thing about the sky for me is that there is just so much of it. Drink it in.

This entry was posted in Random musings on family life, love the universe and everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why I love to look up sometimes…

  1. Jane Earthy says:

    You’re right, the sky is very beautiful. Especially when its blue with little white clouds scudding across it, or at dawn or sunset.

  2. Ben Wakeling says:

    I know what you mean, I often take photos of the sky!

    Thank you for signing my petition, I really appreciate it. I’m sure that, one day, neither of us will be struggling writers!

    Ben

  3. I feel exactly the same. I look up and the sky feels so enormous and Me so small. It always prompts existential thoughts, and thoughts of my father who loved to travel I agree there is something so utterly awe inspiring about a clear sky. It’s my equivalent of the ocean to sit by and think.
    Http.//marketingtomilk.Wordpress.com

    • keatsbabe says:

      Thanks for the comment! I was really pleased with how those photos came out – they really show how the sky seems to loom over you as you take time to look up…

  4. mimi says:

    “Clouds sweeping across, incessant onward motion to a destination unknown”.

  5. Kate says:

    Yep, agreed that sky pix rock. ;) They are normally quite easy to photograph as they don’t move. :D

    • keatsbabe says:

      You’re right – never enough to blur the shot anyway! But landscape is fairly static too, and the impact is often reliant on the light and shade coming from yup – the sky! Thanks heaps for the comment. I’m hoping to put more pics up soon :-)

  6. I love lying on my back gazing at the sky and if I was allowed I would do it for hours! I could dive into that second pic!

  7. Pingback: Photographs – the art of memories | No more wriggling out of writing woman…

Leave a Reply

